Caption competition – the office

002As we enter the summer recess, I thought this would be an appropriate time for another caption competition.  The picture shows me in in my office on campus.   Regular readers will be familiar with the desk and the extent to which it is being taken over by books….

The reader who comes up with what, in my opinion, is the most amusing caption will win a prize.   There may also be a runner-up prize, depending on the quality of the entries.

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to Caption competition – the office

  1. After a fortnight Prof Norton was finally dug out of the book avalanche. When asked how he survived so long he replied “I just continued working and the time flew by.”

  2. Lord Norton says:

    Wow, that was quick. Perhaps I should factor in speed in judging the entries…

    Amazing what the appeal of winning one of my books will do.

  3. Not even the invader’s most fearsome siege engines, which were capable of flinging an edited volume well over the defences of most lesser fortifications, were able to penetrate the reinforced biblio-battlements of Norton Keep. (Source: A History of Desktop Warfare, forthcoming)

  4. mym says:

    “You wouldn’t believe how many political careers are buried under that lot”

  5. genorm says:

    Now, before the new semester, I want you to read these – there WILL be questions and I don’t mean in The House.

  6. “Now where did I leave my diary?”

  7. Alasdair Bruce says:

    Although not as popular as the traditional pillow fort, Professor Norton is making good progress to building his ‘Book fort.’

  8. maude elwes says:

    These two shelves refer to my blue period. The desk there houses the hangover, Tony Benn and Whatever Next are completely at home with Off Message.

  9. Huw Davies says:

    “What’s that? You want me to read your book, do you? Just pop it on the pile there, come back in 18 months and I’ll let you know what I thought.”

  10. Tory boy says:

    A book in the hand is worth two on the desk!

  11. Ernest Darfoor-Marfo says:

    The agony of a career professor is been consumed by books.

  12. ladytizzy says:

    Lord Norton welcomes Lynton to discuss office share for the public sector.

  13. Wenbo Chen says:

    ‘From this angle, you shouldn’t have seen me… Uh, I need to write more books’

  14. OCATHAIN, Baroness says:

    Is the House of Lords office ‘off limits’ or are there no photographers slim enough to get in there?

    Sent from my iPad

  15. D F Rostron says:

    With autumn not far away I need to avoid the risk of falling leaves, better keep the books closed, I don’t want to loose my page.

  16. D F Rostron says:

    There is a saying “Tidy desk, tidy mind”, I wonder what his picture says about Lord Norton’s mind.

  17. Neil M says:

    Lord Norton wonders why Hull University authorities have evacuated those with offices directly below his own. Its health and safety gone mad!

  18. D F Rostron says:

    Never lend books, people don’t return they. The only ones I have left are those I borrowed.

  19. Rich says:

    “Just move them where you like, there’s a chair under there somewhere.”

  20. D F Rostron says:

    Sculpture of the New York Sky Line in books, by Lord Norton, the new Damien Hirst.

  21. D F Rostron says:

    The Norton View is blocked by books.

  22. maude elwes says:

    This pile on the desk is the opposite of ‘buy low, sell high.’ Which makes an economic loss similar to the buying of debt ridden banks and selling them off cheap just when they start to see a profit.

  23. Wenbo Chen says:

    “ If I had a Kindle in my hand, I could fit all these books in my pocket.”

  24. Alex M says:

    “My summer reading? Oh no, its the light reading list I compiled for the incoming freshers.”

    (I actually know a Professor at my institution who had the H&S brigade tell him that the number of books on his office floor were a fire hazard.)

  25. ladytizzy says:

    Has anyone else cottoned on to the proliferation of Caption Competitions?

  26. A man’s desk speaks volumes about his life

  27. Croft says:

    Not wishing to be outshone by the party leaders Lord Norton proudly shows off his presents for Prince George of Cambridge!

  28. Jack Grimston says:

    I’m driving a forklift to the Med this year. Need it to carry the holiday reading.

  29. “And if you buy now, you get not one… not two… but THREE HUNDRED political theory books to review for the Journal of Political Studies ABSOLUTELY FREE!”

  30. I like big books and I ca not lie…

  31. Mark McGann says:

    “Towards the Library of Babel’; an empirical approach”

Leave a Reply

