The office. And the winner is….

002The entries for the latest caption competition were impressive, both quantitatively and qualitatively.  I was not expecting such a crop of excellent captions.  The result is that I have been spoilt for choice.

In terms of wit and appropriateness to the picture, I eventually narrowed it down, or at least reduced it, to nine.  After much deliberation – I took the entries home with me last night – I reduced it to four.   It was a close run thing, but I decided that the winner was Rich with:

‘Just move them where you like, there’s a chair under there somewhere’.

The three runners-up were:

D F Rostron with ‘The Norton View is blocked by books’.

Jack Grimston with: ‘I’m driving a forklift to the Med this year.  Need it to carry the holiday reading.’

mym with: ‘You wouldn’t believe how many political careers are buried under that lot’.

It was such a close-run thing that all those who submitted entries could consider themselves runners-up (and certainly contenders).  The only difference between you and the winner is that he gets a copy of one of my books for free…

If Rich would like to get in touch, I will arrange for his prize to be despatched.

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

