Not taking things for granted

009I was with a close friend when he read the previous blog post.  For some reason, he couldn’t stop laughing.  I’m not sure if it was the reference to my innate modesty.  Admittedly, there’s another reason why I don’t always remember what publications I have in press.  Unlike some, I never include forthcoming works in my list of publications.  (Not that it matters much as no one else usually sees my CV.)  I don’t believe in taking things for granted and only list a publication once it has appeared.  That also has the advantage of being appreciated more once it arrives than it would be if I had already included it in the CV.

It’s a particularly nice surprise if I’m not certain when it will appear.  That applied to the publication mentioned in my previous post.  It also applies to the one that arrived this morning: my chapter on opposition in parliamentary systems (‘L’opposition parlementaire dans une perspective politique’) published in the volume derived from the papers given at the conference on parliamentary opposition at the French National Assembly nearly two years ago.  Given the passage of time, I wasn’t sure it would appear in print: the fact that it has appeared, and in a nicely produced volume, makes for a good day.

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Not taking things for granted

  1. Croft says:

    The last few posts together does make this site feel like Amazons “Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought…” !!

  2. Lord Norton says:

    Croft: I like the implication that readers have bought at least one of my recent books…

Leave a Reply

