A good or a bad picture?

Lord Norton: If lost, HE’s global reputation will be extraordinarily difficult to regain.The Guardian article on the Higher Education Commission report on regulation in higher education, referred to in the previous post, offered a good overview of the report’s recommendations.  It was also accompanied by a photograph of me (pictured), as co-chair of the inquiry.  The photograph has rather divided opinion.  The secretaries in the departmental office think it makes me look weird.  (I think there is an implicit compliment there, namely that I don’t usually look weird.)  I have had one or two e-mails suggesting it is a really good picture.  What do readers think?   Perhaps I should think of using it for a caption competition…

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A good or a bad picture?

  1. Dean B says:

    It looks like a selfie.

  2. ladytizzy says:

    After the photo drew me to the article, my eyes next settled on ‘ “rather dry, perhaps even ‘geeky’…” ‘ for some reason. Truly.

    I am mystified as to what constitutes a good or bad photo/image of a person. Can I recognise you? Yes. Had the photographer read your frequent comments on publishing any old photo of members of the HoL in ermine? Clearly (though you may have shot yourself in the foot with the Fifteen years in the Lords post).

    And so I thought I’d google your images for further investigation. Question: do you have two offices?
    http://www2.hull.ac.uk/fass/politics/about-us/a-department-with-personality.aspx

    • Lord Norton says:

      ladytizzy: I think the photograph of my introduction was in context, unlike pictures of the State Opening of Parliament which are not relevant to discussions of the work of the House. If I was discussing my contributions in debate, I would be showing pictures of me speaking in the chamber. I have one office in Hull (albeit formed of two rooms) and one in the Lords.

      • ladytizzy says:

        I am very sorry to have offended you here and/or in previous comments. I can see that some/many/all can be taken in a way that was not intended. For example, the photo on the Hull site above shows that, after all, there is a desk in your room, not altogether obvious in other photos that led to one or two caption competitions; the question was meant as, at best, humorously rhetorical. Was I really wrong to assume that you knew that?

      • Lord Norton says:

        ladytizzy: You would have to try much harder than that to offend me! I was merely in explanatory mode.

  3. JH says:

    Expressive, characterful, better than the one for ‘A busy day’ but not as a good as the banner photo above.

  4. Wenbo Chen says:

    Really excellent profile picture with iconic smile in the Westminster background!

Leave a Reply

