Stunning scenery

magical wroxtonI do manage to take the occasional weekend off, usually by arranging something in advance so that I cannot then avoid getting away.  Each year, I celebrate my birthday by spending a weekend with friends: it is a tradition that we gather at Wroxton College in Oxfordshire.  The college is housed in a Jacobean mansion – the ancestral home of Lord North – and set in magnificent grounds.   Here’s a stunning picture of part of the grounds taken by Dr Mark Shephard.  I can claim some credit by suggesting he capture the scene, given that he had remembered to bring his camera with him and I, as usual, had left mine back in my briefcase.

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Stunning scenery

  1. Jonathan says:

    I hope the likes of Jack Straw don’t read your blog, otherwise they’ll be thinking this is your country seat!

  2. franksummers3ba says:

    A lovely scene. You might like Big Woods, Kisinoaks or one of the places around here well enough in springtime if that that is one of the scenes you fancy.

  3. franksummers3ba says:

    I have lost track of your birthday, having left it noted somewhere. If it was recent I wish you a happy if very belated birthday. I assume it was the fifth of March and you turned 63. You are still on the younger side of the peak for several positions you hold aren’t you?

Leave a Reply

