Easter caption competition

Lord Norton Speaking at Politics Reception MSP_9852 copyThe most popular posts, according to my WordPress statistics, are the caption competitions, though the most extensively read in recent times has been the preceding post on same-sex marriage.  Here’s the latest caption competition.  It is a picture taken at the recent reception in Hull to mark the 25th anniversary of the Hull parliamentary placement scheme.   As usual, the winner will be the reader who provides what in my opinion is the wittiest caption.  The prize will be a copy of either Eminent Parliamentarians or The Voice of the Backbenchers.  That is, unless the winner is Tony Sands, who has now triumphed twice in the competition and so won copies of both.  Given that, I had better add Parliament in British Politics, 2nd ed., to the list.

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Easter caption competition

  1. Mark Shephard says:

    If he goes on about Lords reform much longer I’m going to need a chair…

  2. seanjm72 says:

    I wonder when he will notice I removed the potters wheel ….

  3. Lord Norton says:

    Two splendid entries to get us under way…

  4. I bet he would look good in stockings and high heels like mine…..

  5. George Allen says:

    Caroline Kennedy looked on in anger as Professor Lord Norton of Louth lightened the mood by detailed how he knitted her Christmas scarf out of an ingenious green cover sheets and old paperclips.

    • George Allen says:

      EDIT: Caroline Kennedy looked on in anger as Professor Lord Norton of Louth lightened the mood by detailed how he knitted her Christmas scarf out of an ingenious mix of green cover sheets and old paperclips.

      • Tony Sands says:

        Absolutely, our internees are an eclectic mix. We do not discriminate on the grounds of race, gender, age, religion or sexual orientation. As you can see from the young lady on my left, we will even accommodate the most eccentric taste in neck accessories.

  6. maude elwes says:

    Yes, I can see this man does resemble Tom Selleck if you close one eye.

    http://img2.bdbphotos.com/images/orig/g/f/gfzknuom20ekkem.jpg?kj8as6ye

  7. “As some of you seem to be cold, I will now make fire.”

  8. Tony Sands says:

    City of Culture? No, I’m not in the least bit surprised. Hull is a veritable hot bed of culture. Especially when I’m in town!

  9. D F Rostron says:

    The Easter Egg Cake was this size, but I ate it.

  10. So when do I tell him that he hasn’t switched the microphone on?

  11. Mark Shephard says:

    Norton revises the 4 Rs to 5 Rs. As well as Lords reform options of ‘retain’, ‘reform’, ‘replace’, ‘remove’ (see ‘Constitution in Flux’ by Norton), we could have a ’round’ chamber.

  12. Passage of time increases legislative proposals, wisdom of the House of Commons officially from the electorate each General Election, the House of Lords from background and expertise.

    Remember dear citizen; don’t reform until your satisfied 😉

  13. Tony Sands says:

    LN: (slightly tetchy) Ladies and Gentlemen, I have called this press conference together with my solicitor to address recent distressing rumours that have circulating in Westminster and the wider world. I indeed refute the allegation in the strongest possible terms that Dr Vince Cable is my long- lost twin.
    Be-scarved solicitor: (unspoken) Who’s he kidding? I’ve got the DNA evidence in my hand and Jeremy Kyle on speed dial.

  14. Tony Sands says:

    LN: Savile Row? No! Louth Sat’day market!
    Female Companion: Same place I got my scarf!

  15. Eamonn O'Kane says:

    ‘In an exciting new development, this year your placement will end instantly if I press my magic invisible red button’

Leave a Reply

