Tempting fate

pioneer8I usually wait until I can confirm something before writing about it, rather than anticipating it – just in case it doesn’t happen.  I should have realised I was tempting fate by concluding my last post by saying my final commitment of the day was catching the last Hull Trains service to Hull.

I arrived at King’s Cross to find the announcement that the 20:30 service was cancelled.  Instead, the instruction was to catch the East Coast 20:35 departure and change at Doncaster: Hull Trains would provide transport from there.  This has happened before: Hull Trains normally have a train waiting at Doncaster.

Anyway, as instructed, I caught the 20:35 East Coast service.  It left King’s Cross on time.  It pulled into Peterborough on time.  I noticed we did not leave on time.  We were stood in the station for some time before a guard announced: ‘We are sorry for the delay.  The British Transport Police are dealing with an incident on the train.’  I have no idea what the incident was.  I was not best pleased when I heard someone else in the carriage using a mobile say: ‘We’re delayed.  The police are dealing with an incident on the train.   It’s not in this carriage.  No, no idea.  But there was a group get on the service from Hull Trains.’  Hmmm.

Eventually, we set off – the delay, fortunately, was a matter of minutes rather than a anything too dramatic.  We reached Doncaster.  There was no Hull Trains.  Instead, they laid on coaches.  I am not a great fan of coaches, primarily because I cannot get on with work.  It was a lost hour.  The journey was uneventful, but looking at a dark M62 is not especially rewarding.   We got to Hull just after midnight.

At least I got from London to Hull and, to be fair, I got back only an hour later than the scheduled time.  Even so, it was not the usual smooth journey by Hull Trains – and the end of my previous post requires qualification.  I knew I should not have tempted fate…

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tempting fate

  1. tizres says:

    Stick with the tried and tested and never believe what you are told by those with pay-grades several times lower than your own. I mean,”…as instructed…”? You ‘assumed’? Without being overly Germanic, us ‘ordinary’ volk taking instructions from guards is so last century. I’m sure Lord Hennessy of Nympsfield would agree.

    AOB: Did you catch B. Trumpington this past week on Sky news explain EOBGO, something she mentioned in her book (and in the Lords last year). Adam Boulton, plus colleague, looked somewhat nonplussed.

  2. Alex M says:

    Presumably this experience hasn’t persuaded you to take Lord Prescott’s view that Hull Trains should be nationalised ….

Leave a Reply

