October caption competition

maxresdefaultFor this month’s caption competition I have selected a picture taken from an occasion some years ago when I was interviewed for Al Jazeera England by Sir David Frost.  I was appearing to discuss electoral reform with Anthony Barnett, who seemed to have difficulty accepting that someone could possibly take a different view to his.   It was  a rather enjoyable occasion.

As usual, the reader to provide what in my view is the wittiest caption will be the winner.  The prize will be one of my books.  Good luck.

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to October caption competition

  1. “Lord Philip, if you will not look my way this will not work. My right hand is the post and my left is the good honest democrats who do not get past it first. You must look and have an honest view . . .

  2. Tony Sands says:

    Don’t be like that Philip. I’m offering you a four figure advance on a quick rewrite of The Constitution in Flux. Really how much could possibly have changed since you did the last one.

  3. craigieb10 says:

    ‘Bill and Ted’s Excellent Adventure continued for some years afterwards’ [air guitar]

  4. tizres says:

    (By any chance, is this the same Anthony Barnett: http://www.newstatesman.com/media/2013/04/twots%E2%80%9D-letter-would-be-new-statesman-editor It would explain your face.)

  5. Lord Norton thinks: “This boy’s a fool!”

  6. Rob Falconer says:

    The reason why Anthony wants electoral reform is that you’re in and he’s not

  7. Tony Sands says:

    Look away if you must my Lord, but the truth is staring you right in your face. Reforming the
    electoral system is like retuning your old, faithful guitar. One day, you look down and realise that the old one has just disintegrated and there are ain’t nothing left to tinker with and you just have to get a new one.

  8. maude elwes says:

    This joker must bare in mind I’m ‘Phillip Norton, Baron Norton of Louth’ English author, academic and Conservative peer, he merely ‘Anthony Barnett of Nowhere.’

  9. Rodolph de Salis says:

    Now then my Lord this time of year you must like me wear a vest.

  10. ken wilkinson says:

    Lord Norton left shell shocked after Mr Barnett`s Glove Puppet is caught Streaking.

  11. Max says:

    Mr Barnet ‘s only response to his Lordship’s view on electoral reform is by a simple hand gesture , pressing index finger to thumb in an oscillating motion to express his disdain.

  12. Barnett explains: “I put the tea in the mug first.”

  13. Gerry McMahon says:

    A clear favourite has emerged out of the two finalists in this years Bill Gates lookalike competition. Mr Barnett on the right is currently priced at 4-5 on, Lord Norton on the left is a long shot at 50-1.

  14. Mike Park says:

    Thought bubble over Lord Norton’s head whilst fondly thinking of something John Major once said… “Only in Britain could it be thought a defect to be ‘too clever by half’. “

  15. D F Rostron says:

    Anthony Barnett says “There is only one way, The Barnett Way”.
    Lord Norton thinks “You Mr. Barnett, like the town of Barnet, are not that far from Barking”.

  16. Rodolph de Salis says:

    Lord Norton thinks: ‘Blast those Al Jazeera interns! I thought I came on this show to talk to Joel, not Anthony Barnett.’

  17. “The answer is that we must have a system of elections with one man one vote as well as the most important thing which is to have votes that put the good people who are not in the most popular and successful part of the return also have a voice. I think Norton will admit that underhanded divide and conquer political silliness and greed are nearly as bad as the Lords.”

  18. tizres says:

    Frank,at the low-ish risk of offending the one person who is (a) reading this, (b) female, and (c) has an opinion…oh, that’s me.

    • Lady Tizzy,

      I smile wryly assuming you are joshing. The construction of the sentence would suggest this. But perhaps not …

      I assume Barnett is the only person I could really offend as I use his voice to attempt a literary caricature of himself. But if I managed to offend you too — I am not sure how to respond. I am aware “one man one vote” is insensitive language the Labour figure would likely avoid.

  19. D F Rostron says:

    Lord Norton: Sometimes while listening to an irrational monologue I sit and think……..and sometimes I just sit.

Leave a Reply

