2015 New Year caption competition

B0I43-qIYAAFSR0Given the popularity of the caption competition, I thought it appropriate to open the New Year with one.  The picture is one I posted earlier of me speaking in October at the Wales Governance Centre in Cardiff.  After I had posted it, a friend suggested it would make a good photograph for the caption competition.  So here it is and over to you.  As usual, the reader who provides what I consider the most apt and witty caption will win.  In past competitions, some readers have been especially eagle-eyed in utilising points of detail and some highly inventive.  The winner will receive one of my recent publications.

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to 2015 New Year caption competition

  1. Jonathan says:

    Wrong memory stick, Lord Norton! Delegates at the Wales Governance Centre look on in puzzlement as the peer continues with the presentation he originally produced for a Visit Hull tourism symposium five years earlier.

  2. Mark Shephard says:

    I wonder if anyone will notice me updating the Constitution in Flux while I am talking…

  3. Lord Norton: “And now, through the magic of ‘Google Translate’, I will repeat my remarks in Welsh.”

  4. tizres says:

    Lord Norton, I think I speak for many here (OK, me only) in asking where else this has been posted since 7 October 2009. Your answer could be crucial to the winning entry…

  5. Tony Sands says:

    Before I start my speech, I would like to thank you for your kind introduction and say that I am delighted to be here. To avoid any confusion, I would just like to point out that I am variously known as Lord Norton of Louth, Professor the Lord Norton, Dr Norton or even Philip. “Boyo” however is pushing it a bit!

    • Tony Sands says:

      Yes, I have been known to join in with a Wesleyan hymn but no, a pre-conference solo rendition of “Men of Harlech” is quite out of the question.

  6. NNJ Palo says:

    The man behind the desk is thinking: “My working day has ended an hour ago. When is he going to stop…?”

  7. maude elwes says:

    LN: I was advised the way to assure the Welsh weep with admiration is to sing the ‘Green Green Grass of Home.’ Surely they must know Hull singers don’t have the power of a Jones.

  8. Rob Falconer says:

    A full house? Yes, but that’s only because the printer got the posters wrong and said it would be Graham Norton speaking.

  9. Rob Falconer says:

    Unfortunately, Lord Norton used the speech he had prepared for this “Save the Whales” conference at Hull University

  10. D F Rostron says:

    From where I’m sitting it looks like Lord Norton is playing Candy Crush on that screen.

  11. D F Rostron says:

    LN “We will close with a game of Bingo, anybody calling ‘house’ must make it clear is is the Commons the refer to, the Lords would not associate its self with such a game.

  12. D F Rostron says:

    Lord Norton “Diolch yn fawr i mi gwahodd i Gaerdydd”

  13. Tony Sands says:

    LN: (aside) I really must remember to read the small print on these all-expenses-paid speaking invitations. I was rather looking forward to Cardiff: Pennsylvania, Texas or New York. The one by the sea in California would have been splendid. At a push I’d have even taken New South Wales. But here …
    LN: (addressing the audience) Ladies and Gentleman, what a very great pleasure it is for me to be here in Cardiff to bring a little stardust, style and Westminster glamour to this provincial outpost!

  14. Rob Falconer says:

    Before I begin my speech on how to be better organised, can I apologise for bringing my attaché case instead of my laptop …

  15. Andrew says:

    Moderator: Pssst, Lord Norton – as you’re presenting, where is the cake?

  16. Bradley says:

    Lord Norton suddenly realised with horror that he had mistakenly brought with him his “research presentation” on lapdancing from 7 October 2009…

  17. Young man, chicken soup,roast beef and spotted dick aren`t on my menu, the restaurant table you booked is next door.

  18. Gerry McMahon says:

    The Pet Shop Boys are still looking good in 2015

Leave a Reply

