Debating the role of the second chamber

Having uploaded one video recently, I decided to follow it with another.  It is my speech in the debate on the report of the Joint Committee of the House of Lords Reform Bill in 2012.  I thought I would do so in part because it has been the most viewed of the videos that feature me on Youtube (1000+)  and also because it combines my views on Lords reform with my advocacy of what we should be doing in considering our constitutional arrangements.   My closing remarks are if anything even more salient now than when I made them in the speech.  The more we have disparate and discrete proposals for constitutional change, the more we need to stand back and make sense of where we are.

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Debating the role of the second chamber

  1. maude elwes says:

    Your last line, LN, says it all, ‘the more we need to stand back and make sense of where we are.’

    When you stand back and take a look at the ‘House of Lords’ today, there is no feasible way to make sense of where it is. Or, why it is.

Leave a Reply

