October caption competition

Wroxton sedan chairAs the new month starts tomorrow, here is the picture for the caption competition.  It shows me during part of my guided tour of Wroxton Abbey – a feature of the Workshop of Parliamentary Scholars and Parliamentarians – drawing attention to the sedan chair which is housed in the Abbey, but which has no obvious link with the building.

I thought it was quite a challenging picture, one that should draw out the best in the imagination of readers.  As always, the reader to come up with what in my opinion is the wittiest and most appropriate caption will be the winner.  The prize as ever will be one of my publications.

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to October caption competition

  1. Alex says:

    “It’s very regal, but when I mentioned the role the Chair plays in the Committee of Privileges, I think you misunderstood me…”

  2. Whovian says:

    The replacement for Tim Wonnacott on Antiques Roadshow comes as quite a shock

  3. Michael Courtney says:

    “Winner of the raffle for a ‘Red Sedan’ is mildly disappointed”

  4. Daniel Cooper says:

    No gentlemen. When I said I was looking for a safe seat in Oxfordshire this wasn’t quite what I meant.

  5. Jonathan says:

    Now, we just need to find a fourth person, then I can be on my way.

  6. The only emissions with this model sir are from sweaty feet.

  7. Neil M says:

    Tea caddies don’t usually come in this size but I had it made to my personal specifications.

  8. Tony Sands says:

    In my youth when I accepted a personal chair from Hull, they gave me a title and an enhanced salary, but having achieved global superstardom, I rather value the simple things in life.

  9. Tony Sands says:

    I’ve got the robes but does it come with a crown?

  10. Wondering where this antique sedan chair came from and how it got into the Abbey!

  11. Alexander M says:

    “Oh no, it is not for sitting in! It is used for conveying cake to its owner.”

  12. maude elwes says:

    The man showing the chair in all its glory says, ‘This chair, LN, is for those who like to be carried on the backs of others. They call it, the PC speak your weight seat.’

  13. D F Rostron says:

    This is a Sedan Chair, which unlike a diesel Volkswagen, will pass an omissions test.

  14. Ld N: “Just look at that tilt! It’s going back to IKEA in the morning!”

  15. Gerry Mcmahon says:

    It’s an early prototype of the Tardis dating back to the time before we believed flight or time travel were possible.

  16. Tony Sands says:

    In Malaysia we have an old proverb. He who sits least works most.
    LN: in that case I think we can dispense with the chair!

  17. Yes yes, that’s all well and good but how much would Drew Pritchard give me for it?

  18. Ulysses says:

    “Do you think the red fits with the benches in the Lords? Since it soon will be even more crowded during question time, I am thinking of bringing this chair to the chamber so I will never again have to compete for some space on the benches!”

Leave a Reply

