The Rathbone Lecture

Eleanor RathboneI much appreciate the comments I have received on the Speaker’s Lecture I gave on Tuesday on the subject of Eleanor Rathbone (pictured) and which was broadcast last night on BBC Parliament.  I tend not to like watching myself on television – one reason I like doing live interviews – but I did watch this programme to make sure my points came across.  For anyone who missed the programme, it will be repeated tomorrow at 4.30 a.m.!

Next year marks the 70th anniversary of Eleanor Rathbone’s death and various events are planned to commemorate her and her achievements.  My lecture was not designed to add to the scholarship on her, but rather to help raise the profile of this remarkable individual.  She is a role model for MPs keen to get things done.  She shows what can be achieved by a combination of intelligence, determination, appreciation of process, and clear principled goals.

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Rathbone Lecture

  1. tizres says:

    Lord Norton, be assured, your passion came across. Thoroughly recommended.

  2. Tony Sands says:

    I watched it too. It was an excellent antidote to Strictly which I watched immediately before. Like your earlier Lecture on Ferens, your excellent research and concise delivery made the subjects accessible and much more enjoyable than I expected. You managed to bridge the generations and make them both very relevant. I had no idea that Rathbone had campaigned on issues like FGM which are still of vital importance today. Very few people too are credited with understanding the threat posed by Hitler. I got the feeling you rather liked her. Clearly she is worthy of being remembered.

Leave a Reply

