Anniversaries ahoy

Lord Norton MSP_7935I am not very good at remembering anniversaries.  Each year, I think I ought to have a little celebration on 1 August – the date on which I became a peer – but then 1 August comes and goes and some days later I remember I should have done something about it.  However, I have realised that this autumn marks the 30th anniversary of becoming Professor of Government at Hull University.  (I was very young at the time  you understand – indeed, the youngest professor of politics in the country.)   Next year will mark the 40th anniversary of me being appointed to the Politics Department at Hull and the year following will mark the 20th anniversary of my elevation to the peerage.   I think I had better get organising receptions.  This could prove expensive.

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Anniversaries ahoy

  1. Well Lord Norton as for this very day I tender you a salutation which is annual but on a calendar date which varies annually — Happy Mardi Gras from Louisiana. Happy Shrove Tuesday as well of course…

  2. labeldesalis says:

    Don’t forget 25th November, as a seminal date.

Leave a Reply

