Founder’s Day and Magna Carta lectures

20160311_103237As regular readers will know, I gave a number of public lectures last year.  One was the University of Hull’s Founder’s Day Lecture, on 23 April, which I gave on the subject of Speaking for Hull: Thomas Ferens as Parliamentarian, analysing Ferens’ role as MP for Hull East from 1906 to 1918.  I summarised the lecture in a post shortly after the event.

A second was the Magna Carta Lecture, sponsored by the High Sheriff of East Yorkshire, Jim Dick, and the University, held on 16 June.  Entitled The Continuing Relevance of Magna Carta: Symbol or Substance? it drew a large audience.   Again, I did a post summarising the theme.

A third was the Speaker’s Lecture on Eleanor Rathbone: An Independent Force of Nature, which I gave in Speaker’s House on 3 November and which was broadcast on BBC Parliament on 7 November.  Again, details can be found in my post on the blog following the lecture.

I am very pleased to report that the first two lectures have now been published by the University.  The third will be published shortly.  If anybody would like copies (I have copies reserved for dedicated readers), do let me know.  Any reader who is on campus or in Westminster is welcome to collect a copy of one or both.  I will post further details shortly for anyone who would like copies mailing.

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Founder’s Day and Magna Carta lectures

  1. Tony Sands says:

    I have got my signed copies. Many thanks. Nice quality printing too.

Leave a Reply

