July caption competition

CnJ663qWAAAlrJkI thought it may be time for a bit of light relief with another caption competition.  This picture shows me being interviewed recently by DeHavilland on the constitutional implications of the UK exiting the EU.  When I saw the picture, I realised it had a number of features that may render it appropriate for a caption competition.  As usual, the winner will be the reader who comes up with what in my view is the wittiest and most appropriate caption.  The prize will be one of my recent publications.

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to July caption competition

  1. Mark Shephard says:

    Philip getting ready for the Sea of Hull by Spencer Tunick

  2. Mark Shephard says:

    Do what for Spencer Tunick? I thought I was here for an interview… away with the hands and the blue paint…

  3. Mark Shephard says:

    The last person to interview had turned into stone and this was unsettling Lord Norton

  4. Will Wilshere says:

    Lord Norton discovers to his chagrin that in the time its taken to set up the camera and adjust his suit the Conservative leadership election has been called and finished before he can announce his own candiacy.

  5. John Dobson says:

    Lord North waits patiently as he is put into a kilt as part of the Conservatives attempt to gain Scottish votes

  6. Nicholas Hackett says:

    Lord Norton statue added to square

  7. Neil M says:

    Yes officer, I was standing in the square when a smartly dressed man approached, punched me in the chest and walked off with my new camera shouting that he needed it for next month’s caption competition. Fortunately, CCTV captured the whole thing.

  8. Gerry McMahon says:

    Terrible shame, the cameras are all here but my game of wiff waff with Boris has been called off as he’s been given an overseas posting!

  9. Tony Sands says:

    A very warm welcome to what will be a rather unique and very memorable themed launch party for my new book: The Constitution in Flex. Now old chap, when you’ve taken my shoes, if you just furnish me with a coat hanger, I can really get into the spirit of things.

  10. Tony Sands says:

    Yes, I would agree that Brexit has already left some parts of Britain exposed but in Hull peripheral elements will remain hidden and somewhat relaxed.

  11. Jonathan says:

    Filming the latest addition to the sculpture park, depicting George Osborne burying his head in Lord Norton’s arm, seeking comfort on the realisation that his hopes of becoming PM have evaporated.

  12. Jana says:

    Lord Norton had been talking so long that the cameraman just had to sit down and have a little cry before putting his earplugs in. Lord Norton did not appear to notice.

  13. I actually said that an effective second chamber produced better statutes. The claim of being a judge of the quality of statues is not one that I care to defend….

  14. Pendragon says:

    Luckily, the television company was able to provide a cover-up until Lord Norton’s butler arrived with his trousers

  15. Dean B says:

    Is the guy in black saying “These new inflatable Lord Norton’s really make it a lot easier to do my job”?

  16. Callum says:

    ‘Now what the hell was I going to say’

  17. maude elwes says:

    LN to camera: ” We decided to add a sculpture in this square as a token of official recognition of the Brexit referendum. It will take centre place, and depict a new, free likeness, of the once shackled British serf, tied foot and hand, now severed, free from a European insatiable Satyr.’

  18. Ulysses says:

    Find a comfortable position and then it is essential that you stand still. Judging from past experience with your predecessors in the background fossilization usually starts to set in after 10,000 years or so. I trust you are a patient man.

  19. Mr Sculptor,would you like to borrow my glasses,your statue is behind me.

  20. I should have joined the Freemasons,it would be less painful than the Stonemasons.

  21. Matthew Oliver says:

    As he looked around Lord Norton commented “this is one of the largest and most attentive attentive audiences I have had for some time”.

  22. Pendragon says:

    No, I did not say I went to Roedean … i said I went to see Rodin

  23. Tony Sands says:

    LN: (to informally dressed manservant bending) Yes, do calm down the sheep. They don’t have to put up with this kind of nonsense when I’m (ehem) freely driving them through the streets of Hull.

  24. James says:

    “Anyone for a snap election?”

  25. cordeaux says:

    Vexed by widespread misunderstanding of constitutional principles in recent months. Lord Norton goes back to basics and prepares for a visual demonstration of legislative ping-pong.

Leave a Reply

