October caption competition

A friend was keen to remind me recently that I had not posted a caption competition for some time.  (I did point out that the blog was designed primarily for what were intended as informed posts on constitutional and other developments!)  dsc_2341 Anyway, here is the latest picture for the caption competition.  It was taken at the Judges’ Summit at the Vatican in June.  I am flanked by law professor John McEldowney and Professor Margaret Archer, President of the Pontifical Academy of Social Sciences, under whose auspices the summit was organised.  As usual, the winner will be the reader who offers what in my view is the wittiest and most appropriate caption and the prize will be one of my publications.

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to October caption competition

  1. Nic Crowe says:

    Lord Norton’s passion for rigourous and thorough marking was immediately evident in his new role as judge on the Great British Bake Off

  2. seanjm72 says:

    ” Im sorry Lord Norton but I distinctly heard you order the sugar free …”

  3. Jana says:

    Philip, bishop elect of Hull, prays for divine guidance: How do I get out of another of those awful scones?

  4. Pendragon says:

    Listening to his two colleagues, Lord Norton was beginning to understand the meaning of the phrase ‘papal bull’ …

  5. “Relations between the Vatican and Westminster in the future may hinge entirely on your opinion of these. ..”

  6. Lady=No wonder your hands are tied,you`re supposed to use string when making a Cats Cradle.

  7. tizres says:

    Lord Norton, soon after a Stinking Bishop toastie, giving him a whole new meaning of a constitution in flux.

  8. Dan Farmer says:

    Lord Norton is once again torn between his conscience and temptation in a battle of Biblical proportions… ‘should I have another piece of cake?!’

  9. Peter L Foster says:

    Professor Margaret Archer to Professor John McEldowney “All those late night sittings have finally caught up on him”

  10. Mark Shephard says:

    Please Lord, make this mayo-cheese sandwich go away…

  11. maude elwes says:

    LN, despondent, ‘I wore my special tie to be sure I wasn’t taken as simply one of the mass. It had no effect, they ignored me, then gave me crumbs rather than that gold chalice I had my eye on.’

  12. Croft says:

    I Assumed it was LN saying: “Ever since I failed to make the list of the 100 most influential people on the Right I’ve lost my appetite.”

  13. Tory Boy says:

    I think you will find Mary Berry is not a peer!

  14. Neil M says:

    Lord Norton’s expression of disappointment on learning that the position of Pope was already taken is only compounded by the discovery that the organisers of the Judges Summit had ticked the Vatican’s loaves and fishes buffet option and that he was the 5001 person to arrive.

  15. D F Rostron says:

    Lord Norton demonstrates it is possible to sleep while standing.

  16. Tony Sands says:

    And when do you think Theresa May will call a General Election, Lord Norton?

  17. Matthew Oliver says:

    Lord Norton listens intently whilst praying no one notices he slipped his cake into unsuspecting Professor McEldowney’s pocket.

  18. Tony Sands says:

    Lord Norton gives thanks that the “must-have Swiss roll after lunch” turns out not to involve participation in the Papal Guards’ daily gymnastics session.

  19. Jonathan says:

    “I’m deliberately not looking at the camera, as people will just suggest the photo as a candidate for future caption competitions, completely forgetting that my blog is intended for informed posts on constitutional and other developments.”

  20. Julian Ashton says:

    Caesar adsum jam forte
    But why is there none for me?

Leave a Reply

