Autumn caption competition

DSC_2552

Time for the autumn caption competition.  Regular readers may recognise this as one of the photographs taken when I attended and spoke at the Judges’ Summit on Human Trafficking and Organised Crime held at the Vatican in June.  As usual, the reader who supplies the wittiest and most appropriate caption will be the winner and receive one of my recent publications.

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Autumn caption competition

  1. Dean B says:

    Are you thinking: I’m worried I’m too well known to star in this remake of “12 Angry Men”…?

  2. Richard Quirk says:

    Four hours in and not a single cake in sight!

  3. Streaking Glove Puppet spotted in the vatican

  4. Rob Lawson says:

    “I call this meeting of Spectre to orde. Now, who has a plan to neutralise 007?”

  5. Nicholas Hackett says:

    Hull Mania spotted at organised crime summit.

  6. John Hopkins says:

    I hope Lady Butler Sloss is not going to start telling me about her garden again.

  7. labeldesalis says:

    ‘Lock her up’

    • labeldesalis says:

      ‘Mr. Susumu Honda, do we have an accord?’
      or
      ‘So, that’s all sorted then. HONDA will stay in Spost-Brexit.’

      • labeldesalis says:

        ‘Mr. Susumu Honda, do we have an accord?’
        or
        ‘So, that’s all sorted then. HONDA will stay in Swindon post-Brexit.’

  8. Rob L says:

    At least as a criminal I wouldn’t be asked ‘when will the PM call an early election?’

  9. maude elwes says:

    LN in thought: How will I be able to explain to both chambers Human Trafficking, of any age, is no longer on the cards. It may cause walk outs from judicial committees? Not easy being a member of the Peerage is it?

  10. Alex says:

    As fellow delegates around him nod off, Lord Norton considers whether he has enough material for the next four hours, or will he be forced to resort to a dramatic reading of Erskine May…

  11. Pendragon says:

    Hmmm … but is human trafficking going to lead to an increase in road congestion?

  12. Alex M says:

    As Baroness Butler-Sloss looks through the menu, Lord Norton of Louth ponders where his cake has gotten to …

  13. Neil M says:

    As Lord Norton clicks his fingers, Lady Butler-Sloss is reminded of their time together in the House of Lords Glee club and inadvertantly bursts forth with a couple of verses of “Don’t Stop Believin”

  14. Tony Sands says:

    My work is celebrated. Therefore I am also a celebrity.
    I wonder how one says, “I’m a celebrity, get me out of here” in Japanese.
    I think I might be about to find out.

  15. Croft says:

    Is LN thinking: I could have been the model for Rodin’s the Thinker?!

    • Croft says:

      Is the chap to the right of LN thinking: He’s doing his thinker pose again. Last time this happened he started talking of undressing to show he looked just like the ‘thinker’ . I will close my eyes and go to my happy place and hope its all over soon……

      😀

  16. Matthew Oliver says:

    Lord Norton: Why do these pesky photographers insist on following me around? I suppose I’ll have to do another one of those pesky caption competitions now…make sure you get my good side.

  17. Matthew Oliver says:

    Noting the drinking glasses but lack of water, Lord Norton thinks to himself that its a bit of a dry do.

  18. Ian Adderley says:

    Lord Norton was the only delegate to take the “keep your chin up” comment literally… staring intently at the speaker in the hope of securing a copy of his latest publication for his efforts.

  19. Dean B says:

    Well if you close your eyes, of course I’ll take your biscuit. What do you expect?!

  20. Tony Sands says:

    LN: (musing) clearly a little heavier on the Grecian 2000 than the Baroness and I. Or is he a victim of Andrew Neil’s hair haberdasher? I don’t know why they bother.

  21. “Hmmmm! Are they going to stop dithering over their nursery books and make a decisive vote in the Vatican’s final summit. Hey! Neighbour please wake up before you miss the boat ride”

  22. Matthew Oliver says:

    All the attendees do their best to ignore S Honda’s very off-putting snoring whilst Lord Norton considers a sharp dig in the ribs.

  23. Mark Shephard says:

    Lord Norton hoped he had not committed a crime by sneakingly eating a salt ‘n’ vinegar Pringle while others were not looking.

  24. “Ten minutes in the Sin Bin! What could I possibly have done wrong?”

  25. tizres says:

    Caught: the moment B. Butler-Sloss had a stab at womansplaining.

  26. Matthew Oliver says:

    Lord Norton ponders a bid to be Christmas No 1 and shares the lyrics to his song.*

    Imagine there’s no Human Trafficking
    It’s easy if you try
    No hell below us
    Above us only sky
    Imagine all the JAM’s
    Living for today…

    Imagine there’s no Crime
    It isn’t hard to do
    Nothing to kill or die for
    And no religion (& Vatican) too
    Imagine all the JAM’s
    Living life in peace…

    You may say I’m a dreamer
    But I’m not the only one (Head nod to S Honda)
    I hope someday you’ll join us
    And the readers of my blog will be as one

    Imagine no possessions
    I wonder if you can
    No need for greed or hunger (just come to one of my tutorials – cake galore)
    A brotherhood of the Hull Mafia
    Imagine all the JAM’s
    Sharing all the world…

    You may say I’m a dreamer
    But I’m not the only one (fade to S Honda’s snoring in background)
    I hope someday you’ll join us
    And the readers of my blog will live as one

    *Yes I know its too long to be a caption but anyway thanks for reading & goodnight.

  27. D F Rostron says:

    Sometimes I sit and listen, sometimes I sit and think and sometimes I just sit.

  28. Jed Hutchinson says:

    Lord Norton contemplates whether to wake his neighbour before a photographer catches him nodding off, decides against it.

  29. Jed Hutchinson says:

    Lord Norton considers whether to wake up his neighbour before a photographer catches him nodding off, decides against it.

  30. Renzi, the Pope, rather Italian around here. I am sure that this fellow has spotted it. But perhaps after Brexit…..better hit the shops after this before it is too late…..

  31. NNJ Palo says:

    Some attendants have fallen asleep. Lord Norton of Louth is waiting his turn to speak and make the rest to fall asleep too.

Leave a Reply

