Gay rights back in the news…

The issue of gay rights has come to the fore as a result of the PM’s plan to do a deal with the DUP to craft a majority in the Commons.  The development occurs as I prepare notes for a short speech I am giving next week, looking at how attitudes have changed in the Lords.  I have previously published a post on why the Lords voted by such a massive majority for the Marriage (Same Sex Couples) Bill.  As I noted then, attitudes have changed over the years since I entered the House.  When I spoke in 2000 on the proposal to lower the age of consent, I was in a minority, notably so on my own side, but also in the House as a whole. The situation was notably different  in 2013 on second reading of the same-sex marriage bill.  Those opposing the bill constituted the minority.

Re-reading my speeches, there is nothing I would change in either.  Both are relatively short – there was an advisory time limit in the 2013 debate – but that I think is a benefit, since it meant the key points were not lost.  For anyone interested, here is the speech in the debate in 2000 and here is the speech I delivered in 2013.  I am not sure if my speech in 2000 influenced any members – I received a good many congratulations, but mainly from those who agreed with me.  I also got a few strange looks.  One peer told me my speech in 2013 did influence how some peers voted, though the only evidence I have is a fellow peer who said that as a result of my speech he was not going to vote against the bill.  Every little helps.

Attitudes on same-sex marriage changed markedly in the UK at the start of this century (and have done so more recently in the USA) and it was notable in the 2013 vote how some more traditional peers were voting for the bill.  Every main political grouping in the House (Conservative, Labour, Liberal Democrat, Cross-bench) produced a majority in favour. Looking back on the 2000 debate, I was struck by some of the claims that were made which today would sound outlandish and, in some cases, were simply factually incorrect.  Popular attitudes have moved on.  We have same-sex marriage and society has not collapsed.  I believe it is strengthened.

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Gay rights back in the news…

  1. William MacDougall says:

    Could you say something about the behaviour of the House of Lords when there is a hung parliament? In particular, I understand there is a convention that the manifesto commitments of the Government will not be stopped in the Lords, but does that apply when the largest party lacks a majority of MPs and can’t govern on its own? Will the Lords feel obliged to respect manifesto commitments of the Tories?

  2. tizres says:

    The DUP aren’t known for their self-loathing pragmatism (Parliament doesn’t need any more) but I can’t see why they would want to make gay rights a red line let alone an immediate repeal of the many equality laws, rules, regs, etc; advantage is only gained by keeping this Gvt going, surely?

    And, yes, I agree that mainstream British society has moved on, and will move on as it always has.

  3. Dean B says:

    Your 2013 speech was magnificent. It can still be seen online, at about 2h20m here: http://www.bbc.co.uk/democracylive/house-of-lords-22775266

    Looking forward to some of the usual bigoted woodlice crawling out from under their stone.

  4. maude elwes says:

    And

    So, as we can see from all these videos, to pretend gay marriage is accepted and applauded en masse, especially those involved first hand in it, is far from honesty. However, in the US they are allowed to open up and speak their truth. They are not suffocated into a pretence by the selfish PC brigade here who cannot bear different viewpoints.

Leave a Reply

