Brexit caption competition

imagesSF9B1IEK

Given all the dreadful things that have been happening – and I may comment on them in a later post – I thought it may be appropriate for a bit of light relief and, by popular demand, offer another caption competition.  The picture shows Mark Stuart, Brexit Secretary David Davis and me in conversation.  The picture was taken some time ago at a conference in Hull.  I think it is a challenging picture for a caption competition, but whenever I think that I am usually proved wrong.  As usual, the reader providing what in my view is the most witty and appropriate caption will be the winner.  The prize will be a copy of Reform of the House of Lords.  What greater  incentive could one wish for?

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Brexit caption competition

  1. Terence Smith says:

    *Night Of the Eleciton*
    David Davis: I always knew it was a good idea when I told the PM to call an early election,
    Mark stuwart: Lord Norton, do you want to tell him or shall I?

  2. James Hand says:

    Mark Stuart (contemplatively): There might just be a way by which one can have one’s cake and eat it.

  3. Pendragon says:

    Maybe we could get Theresa May to make up a fourth for our version of Mount Rushmore

  4. Mark Shephard says:

    Mark Stuart singing: “Brexidos, movement of the people” (David Davis holding the microphone, Philip Norton wondering if that was a clever play on a Bob Marley tune…)

  5. Jonathan says:

    “£350m would pay for proper lighting in all university conference rooms. Or have we allocated that money already?”

  6. David Gussow says:

    Mark I don’t think your analysis of the voting record of the Lib-Dems will help David this time around.

  7. maude elwes says:

    Omnipotence to all three: You can grin as much and as long as you like, but soft leaders always end in soft voters. Unless, as you were warned, a fair amount of Paternalism is in the mix. Now, as you can see, the new Napoleon, along with his Josephine, are jostling to take the country to the cleaners.

    And the bell tolls:

    John Donne (1572-1631), Devotions Upon Emergent Occasions, Meditation XVII: Nunc Lento Sonitu Dicunt, Morieris:

    “Perchance he for whom this bell tolls may be so ill, as that he knows not it tolls for him; and perchance I may think myself so much better than I am, as that they who are about me, and see my state, may have caused it to toll for me, and I know not that.

  8. tizres says:

    Nowt to do with Brexit, and not my words but those of Andrew Rawnsley from 2002:

    “Local Tory parties are being exhorted to select candidates who are not all white, male, middle-aged pinstripes – though so far with little tangible effect. Damian Green, who speaks on education, has been sent on a never-ending tour of classrooms. David Willetts, the party’s man on welfare, has had a sleep-over in a council flat. IDS has even been pictured playing in a charity soccer match for asylum-seekers. Whatever next? Eric Forth serving tea at a refuge for battered women? David Davies holding hands at a transvestite drop-in centre?”
    https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2002/jul/14/conservatives.politicalcolumnists

    I’m sure Mr Rawnsley would be delighted to receive the prize.

  9. Alex M says:

    Cake in exchange for supply and confidence? It just might work …

  10. D F Rostron says:

    Brexit to the left of them, Brexit to the right of them, into the valley of coalition voted the 600.

  11. D F Rostron says:

    David Davies “Life is a stage and each must play his part, I will now Brexit stage right”.

  12. D F Rostron says:

    David Davis ‘Cry “havoc!” and let slip the dogs of Brexit’

  13. D F Rostron says:

    David Davis ‘Some are born great, some achieve greatness, and some have Brexit thrust upon them.’

  14. Michael says:

    For where two or three are gathered in my name …

  15. D F Rostron says:

    David Davis ‘Friends, Britains, countrymen, lend me your ears: I come to Brexit Europe, not to praise it.’

  16. Who's stolen the comfy chair? says:

    Mr Stuart to the Secretary of State; “Will Susie Dent accept Brexit yet…the word I mean?”

  17. Who's stolen the comfy chair? says:

    “That won’t be any then!”
    Senior Tories laugh off academic prediction that they will lose the same (net) number of seats that the Lib Dems will win altogether.

  18. So, I said to Boris, ‘ Don’t bother reading the Queen’s Speech… ‘

  19. hullwarstudies says:

    Stuart: Ah, finally, the UK’s leading constitutional expert and a Cabinet Minister; can you tell me what the long term impact of Brexit will be?

Leave a Reply

