Who am I?

This week a publisher sent me the firm’s latest catalogue – not once, but four times.  I received one in an envelope addressed to ‘Lord Norton Louth’, another in one addressed to ‘Professor Lord Norton of Louth’, a third addressed to ‘Professor Philip Norton’ and a fourth addressed – most bafflingly – to ‘Mrs Lord Norton’!  I might have a split personality, but it’s not that extreme.

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Who am I?

  1. Croft says:

    Well I hope it was something you wanted!

  2. ladytizzy says:

    Some very odd assumptions going on here, starting with Mrs Lord Norton: why not Miss or Ms? Why not Ms Norton Louth?

    See how many accounts you can open by using the letter/envelope as proof of identity.

    • Lord Norton says:

      ladytizzy: It is also the first time (I think) that I have had correspondence that suggests my forename is Norton (Lord Norton Louth) though assuming it is Lord (as in Mrs Lord Norton) is not unusual (I variously get letters addressed to Mr Lord Norton). I also get letters addressed to LOR Norton and LNO Louth and similar.

      Where on earth they got the ‘Mrs’ from, I have no idea.

  3. The final appellation is hilarious! Would ‘she’ be the power behind the red bench?

  4. macarthursmutterings says:

    did Mrs Norton enjoy the read?

  5. The Duke of Waltham says:

    How much, my Lord, are you in touch,
    how much to your feminine side?
    Perhaps this is what you must ask,
    the reason these letters arrived
    (despite the lack of a bride).

    By the way, I don’t know whether Your Lordship (or someone else in Lords of the Blog) has explored the matter in a previous post, but I understand that Peers are confronted with some unusual problems when having passports issued for themselves, due to the incompatibility of their names and titles with international standards…

  6. Lord Norton says:

    The Duke of Waltham: The last thing I am in touch with is my feminine side!

    I have previously blogged about the difficulty of getting my passport changed consequent upon getting my peerage. That, though, appeared to be more the consequence of incompetence than problems with international standards.

Leave a comment