The coat of arms

Coat of ArmsI have previously posted a picture of my coat of arms and explained the reasons for the various symbols used.  However, I have not explained its formal construction in heraldic terms.  I don’t know why, given how many of you must be dying to know.  So, to satisfy your lust for  knowledge, here it is:

Arms – Paly of four argent and or issuing in base a pile throughout the sides embowed inwards azure over all three fleurs-de-lis those in chief azure and that in base per pale argent and or.

Crest – A church tower argent with a spire azure set thereon a bee or the wings displayed argent veined azure.

Supporters – On either side an owl azure armed or in the beak a quill the nib outwards argent spined or.

So now you know.

About Lord Norton

Professor of Government at Hull University, and Member of the House of Lords
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The coat of arms

  1. Croft says:

    “Arms – Paly of four argent and or issuing in base a pile throughout the sides embowed inwards azure over all three fleurs-de-lis those in chief azure and that in base per pale argent and or.”

    Otherwise: Divide the shield into four divisions top-bottom alternating silver and gold. From across the base a blue wedge pointing upwards with a bow like curve inwards. Over the top of everything 3 fleurs-de-lis those at the top blue those in the bottom divided in half down the centre silver and gold.

  2. franksummers3ba says:

    Lord Norton,
    I believe the original Coat of Arms post was the first time my name appeared in one of your posts. I wonder if I am still the most prolific commenter. Lady Tiz(zy)res seems to slack off when I stop so perhaps she has not overtaken me. I think that I may find the strength in the summer to do something radical as I need to do but until and probably afterwards I will probably always be reading your posts as I mostly always have since 2009 whether commenting or not. .

  3. There are some of us still interested in heraldry specifically and incorporeal hereditaments generally :).

Leave a comment